Gran Turismo 6: Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VI T.M.E.

The Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution series of car is, without any question, shadow or doubt, my favourite.
 
There are several single cars that I can pick out that have interested me. I’ve certainly been engaged in wanting to drive them. But the fact that just about every Mitsubishi Evo ever has encapsulated me, that I would take any one that came my way, make it my number one.
 
I believe my love for the machine started back in, I believe, 2006. For Christmas, the lucky soul that I was back then got a model of Gilles Pazzini’s Mitsubishi Lancer WRC04 – one of the last that competed in the WRC, in the first year that started Sebastian Loeb’s bloody dominance.
 
It was a super cool model. It was the largest I had at that time, the first one I had where the doors opened, the interior was detailed, the bonnet even opened. It also had unscrewable wheels, whereby then you could place some spiked snow tyres onto the model. It was unbelievably cool to me, and when time goes back to me just moving cars around on my bedroom floor, the Evo is one of the cars I can recall to. Among others, I even had an Enzo and MC12 together. The MC12 ended up being the one I preferred.
 
That was what started my young Evo love, and also hearing of the Evo 10 that was coming about helped that. I never got to really play about with one on GT4 at the time, though I was well aware of the fastest at the time – the Evo 8 MR GSR. I kind of liked that one too, with its awesome Medium Purplish Grey Mica paint. I also distinctly remember the Evo IX being a useful (read: required) car in GT5:p, though that didn’t hit the spot quite as well.
 
I also remember distinctly viewing the Top Gear clip of the Evo 8 FQ400 beating the Lamborghini Murcielago around the track. That gave me some more love for the Evo. Remembering it as one of the first big car names engraved in my mind, and even the WRC as one of my first sports I watched, gives the Mitsubishi the spot in the centre of my car heart.
 
What I wasn’t quite so aware of at the time, and not aware of for even a while, was the history of the Evo itself. I had only known the Evo in the then and now, so was pretty surprised to see the basic concept stretched back to 1992.
 
The original Evo 1 now looks so basic compared to some of the other Evos, but relatively speaking, in terms of the concept, there is no difference. What happened was that Mitsubishi decided to take their Lancer saloon and make it a Group A car. A 4WD saloon with some quite mad looks resulted, and it worked rather well…seeing as they kept going in WRC for 13 years after that.
 
And the road car kept going in production 20 years from the original’s release. But in the UK, they eventually went and stopped it. And now there’s talks of it going all hybrid. No real news has been heard of it since. Oh no.
 
It is absolutely worth noting my Evo rankings by the way. I mean, there’s 10 of them, so I have to have a good order for them. And I do…sort of. I know roughly the top and bottom, but the middle is a bit more difficult. My best rankings for me at this point are:
 
10-8-3-1-5-6-9-4-2-7
 
So with that noted, this Evo 6 T.M.E. here ranks about in the middle of my list. Notably it is just below the 5, even though the differences there were rather lesser than some other jumps between Evos.
 
The Evo 6, actually, is the most represented Evo in this game. By quite some considerable distance.
 
The standard and typical GSR is present – a car which actually seems like a nice car to own even if I prefer other Evos, a beautiful, classic drive on a mountain road, on and off road. However this was also the point whereby PD decided to include the more hardcore RS version, so that’s present too.
 
But that wasn’t enough for PD. They also decided to release the respective Tommi Makinen Editions – aka the Evo 6.5 – of the GSR and RS, originally specced from one year after their release, not to mention the Evo 6 Rally Car that was Makinen’s final championship winning car. Oh, and lest we forget the Mine’s Evo VI, a car cursed to be left behind unfortunately among many other tuners. Poor Mine’s. They can do R34s brilliantly but Evos evade them. Other tuning companies do them better…much better.
 
So not surprisingly the Evo 6 was chosen to be given the Premium treatment for GT5 – but in another new model. It was another TME, this time from ’99, but this one came with a BIG STRIPE!
 
Interestingly, this colour scheme had featured in a separate model in Gran Turismo 3 as well. But for Gran Turismo 4 it was nowhere to be seen.
 
Nonetheless, I’m good with the choice of Evo 6 as Premium. I still think the Evo 3 was a more obvious candidate as a separate model base, but that would have probably been a better choice than, say, the 4.
 
Off-road here, as seen, it is clearly excellent. What did you expect from the WRC champion?
 
The Evo can apply its power very well onto the gravel, and doesn’t struggle even slightly with the bends. Technology abound here to make this happen, as the Evo does still contain some extra gizmos among the more normal stuff to make it happen. AYC is the most notable of these and manages to make the Evo one of the most variable cars to tune theoretically in the game.
 
Yet even aside from this, on the road, the Evo does turn out to be a very useful car to work through the game with.
 
You receive it very early indeed into career mode, and it will reach 500PP with very little effort. You can really take it and breeze through an absolute ton of races, which is probably why it became my most used car for a while. Ironically the KTM X-Bow Street, which I reviewed rather poorly, actually turns out to be a great alternative for any events that the Evo can’t do. It’s the reviewer’s curse indeed, as the misnamed Austrian lightweight has really been used a lot by me in races because of this.
 
And on the road, it is a superb racer. At 500PP it is capable of even beating GT-Rs in the Tour of Japan race. R35s, that is. And if you do fall off the road, then the 4WD means you don’t even slow down that much in, say, gravel.
 
While this is the Evo you will end up with, is it the one I’d recommend? …No.
 
I’m sorry Evo 6, it wasn’t meant to end like this…
Obviously the Evo 6 is superb, I’d be lying if I said it actually wasn’t. But I reckon that if you do want an Evo to use, you should make it the Evo 8 MR GSR. It is probably my favourite Evo road car in game, though the actual fastest is the Evo 8 RS due to its lighter weight. But you can make a proper FQ400 replica out of an MR GSR, though I don’t choose to do that. Or if you want a premium, buy an Evo X then make its FQ400 there. I would do that…and I have.
 
That said, my favourite Evo period hasn’t even been mentioned here.
Leave a Reply

