Gran Turismo 6: Ferrari 365 GTB4

Polyphony Digital added a very strong regime of Ferrari’s for Gran Turismo 6. Of the 6 coming in, 5 are relative classics – the odd one out being the FXX which provides a modern contrast to the older additions.
 
But of the classics added, there are some questions to be asked about some of them.
 
The Ferrari 250 GTO is an absolutely justified addition to the game. You’ll see why it’s the most expensive car in the world with enough research, because here there isn’t really the time.
 
I was also impressed with the addition of the second car in the GTO line – from 1984. Among the relatively samey Ferraris of yesteryear, this one stands out to me as the biggest rival to the well-acquitted Lamborghini Countach. I thought of it as a strong looker, and I will look forward to driving it later on in GT6…provided I ever get the money to afford it.
 
But the rest of them seem rather average, relatively speaking. I am not really a Ferrari nut, so therefore I don’t presume all of these cars to be the second coming at the time.
 
The 250 GT seems to pale into insignificance compared to its mega-money racing model, despite its considerable beauty. The Dino was well advertised among cars in GT6, but it still seems distinctly average. But this was the one that I questioned most – the 365 GTB4 “Daytona”.
 
Even though the Daytona’s history is pretty well documented, it isn’t the car that catches me that well – as the closest rival to the Miura it was surprisingly outshone, as it bullishly stuck with a front-engine layout whilst the mid-engined Miura caught the eye of inspiration for the future – as the first ‘supercar’.
 
The looks of this one, compared to the rest, seemed too different. It had plenty of beauty alright – but it was not the same as the other Ferraris, which was offputting. Whereas the other Ferraris have wild, mad beauty that springs out and hits you, this one has much more concealed beauty. And in this instance, I don’t believe that’s a particularly good thing…
In addition, it also costs 550k in this game. That seemed rather too much for me.
 
So when I saw it on the arcade list, there were some rather negative thoughts initially. Firstly, the Dino was well covered in many trailers – so why isn’t it there instead?
 
Second, its looks, which were bore upon me for the first time there as well.
 
Third, its stats. 347bhp is fair enough but compared to others in the game seems miniscule. The 1200kg weight impressed me though – given its rather bulky areas I do think that is a surprising weight. And yet, compared to the other classic Ferraris, it’s quite overweight. So it really didn’t achieve anything for me from the get-go.
 
And so, taking it to Monza, I wasn’t expecting a lively drive. Just a typical mid-maybe-high level road car drive. And if I’m honest, that level is the one that interests me the least.
 
The first thing I noticed about it though, was the sound. It was actually quite fitting. It’s not as grumbly as it really could be, but it seems to fit the Ferrari well, and the way it drives. Speaking of which…
 
I was in for a surprise with this thing. I was expecting relative mediocrity, but instead I got a superbly well-rounded drive.
 
Don’t pay this much attention. This was merely an outtake
I wasn’t expecting too much life under the new physics engine. But its turning ability was superb and true – a perfect setup for the front-engine rear-drive it wields. However, the great thing is it can also do that most rear-drive of things – sliding.
 
The sliding is not as difficult to manipulate as you would think, and it is very controlled sliding. You do fine yourself in good control with this car all the time – and as well you should.
 
Because it isn’t even just a good drive. It’s also a really quick one. 1200kg may be heavy among the new Ferraris in this game, but the fact is that it’s a perfect value to have when you are being propelled by a 347bhp V12 engine.
 
On the Monza straights, it feels very, very fast. Certainly a match for anything of its type, and probably able to compete with anything on the fast tracks.
 
Even the onboard view was rather cool in my mind. The interior seems very fitting for this type of car. Of course though, the superb rear end is emphasised in chase cam, with the 4 flowing exhausts pumping all the speed out of the car and the sloping back matching its superb speed.
 
So yes, the Daytona was a very big surprise. I had heard all about it before in the past and it seemed legendary, yes – but then overshadowed by others at the time, and also not looking ideal in my mind, plus other Ferraris proved even more legendary than it.
 
But a drive in GT6 has proven it to be a very capable car. The Miura has a big fight on its hands to be as good as this – the Daytona even has a horn that can face up to the Miura’s, not to mention an actual rear window. And while the Daytona’s 550k pricetag is hefty in these moneyless times at present, you aren’t paying 15 million for it instead…dear oh dear.
 
I would certainly recommend picking up this classic Ferrari then. If I thought this was the worst of the 5, I’d love to see what the others are like then…better than…I dunno, bacon? Surely not…and I’m hungry now.
 
 
Good marks on the donut section.
Leave a Reply

