Gran Turismo 5: Nissan Silvia S15

 
Nissan Silvia Spec-R Aero (S15) ’02
Stats
Power: 250bhp
Weight: 1240kg
Price (Level): 25,600 Cr. (3)
Prize: No
0-60: 6.011 seconds
0-100: 14.440 seconds
¼ mile: 14.645 seconds
1 mile: 35.909 seconds
Max Speed: 166.5mph
Max G-Force: 0.61G
Drivetrain: FR
Possible AI in: Japanese Championship, Grand Valley 300km
Everyone loves the Silvia. Drifters, draggers, drivers, dancers, dentists, directors, divers, drillers, doctors, detectives, designers and just about anything else I haven’t thought of beginning with D. Yup. It’s a well loved car, for sure.
This is the S15, and among Silvia’s, I find it to be one of my favourites. I have three tunes for the entire S15 series alone, and this was the base for my first released tune which became an RM based on Super GT300 specs, like the C-West Razo Silvia, which is my personal favourite of all the GT300s in the series by the way. Stuff like the HKS Silvia is somewhat shabby, but I don’t dislike the Silvia as a series in the slightest.
Compared to the oldest Silvia in the game, the CSP311, this is a lot faster, although not as luxurious. That is 37 years older than this though, to be fair. The Silvia 240RS is a lot more boxy but more insane, and more Italian. The S13 is my personal least favourite of the series, seeing as it looks just too plain for me. That’s not to discount from the amount of modification you can do to one, but they’re way too common here. They are very cheap normally though and I recently picked one as my starter for a new save in GT1, with great success. The S14 was OK but somewhat dull. Indeed, I think it looked alright, but it didn’t feel that good for me. So how does this S15 compare?
Well, I’d consider it my favourite of the S series for certain. This thing has got some decent soul in it, and some decent sliding in it too. As would be expected from a Silvia – it’s a good job Toyota now are making the GT86 for us to get some similar feelings like this again.
It’s not terribly fast, though 6 seconds from 0-60 is certainly good. It’s got plenty of top speed as well, but really, speed is not the true strong point of this Silvia. As I’ve said, it’s the driving and it does a good job of it.
However, I never really can consider this Silvia as a favourite of mine. There isn’t enough of what it does, and this is where the tuning comes into play. There are plenty of tunes for this particular Silvia out there. It probably needs a good bit more but there are many replicas of other Silvias out there and some custom mods from big makes, such as Praiano, RVR, MCT and…myself.
We aren’t testing one of those tunes though. This is a stock model, and if I’m honest, you can do better when stock. For example, you could actually get one of the 276hp Japanese cars to do much better damage here – for instance, Nissan’s own Skyline GT-R. In fact, I think this has a body with design cues from an R33…and that’s good, because that’s the best looking Skyline. And because it’s a completely different model, it isn’t a shameless fake like the Skyline GT-S models from the R32. That’s very good, certainly, because I cannot stand the GT-S models whatsoever.
However, the stuff this Silvia provides isn’t to be ignored. This is certainly a good car to drive, though you need a pretty wide track to get the best of its free-sliding ability. This is one of Nissan’s greater hits in their history, but I’m not sure I’d want to use one constantly.
Leave a Reply

