Forza Motorsport 6: Mitsubish Lancer Evolution X

 
The Evo X came under the guise of a new Lancer generation, and it looked probably better than any Evo that had gone before. Mostly the fact it had actual curves to behold helped this, relative to the boxy bodies of the past two generations and the relatively curved but straightly done first three Evos.
 
It still packed the same stats as the ones of recent times though, with 295 horsepower in the new 2-litre turbo straight-4.
 
That said, after that base model Mitsubishi would take it further than any Evo would go before – 440bhp in the last version to come to the UK. But they took a while to make that happen. This is because they had all the time in the world to use the X – because they never introduced, say, a slightly upped ‘Evo XI’.
 
 
What would be the point? By now, the purpose of the Lancer Evolution to begin with was now gone. Anything else would have been nothing more than novelty, which is why the X has lasted since it came out…and is now going in March 2016, closing the whole series out. It will be a sad day…
 
I’ll make replicas out of the 400 and 440bhp versions I so love at some point in this game. But we’re sticking with the most standard ‘FQ300’ here, and putting it into the contest of my favourite Evo that I talked about with the VIII.
 
As I said there, the sheer length of time for which the Evo X has stuck around has put me close to it. As the big Evo at the time I came to love it, it was always going to be one of my favourites. Now I could prove why on Forza 6.
 
 
I expected much the same as the previous two Evos, with the same attitude needed to driving this as was needed for them. All I had to do was just spot the difference between them to see which was better; the VIII, or the X?
 
It was the easiest game I ever played. Mostly because the two were very similar…for about 1 gear.
 
The X has SST here which makes a quite clear difference in terms of speed. It’s accelerative as expected off the line, but the shifts are so much faster and that makes it feel a damn sight quicker too.
 
 
Then I turned the wheel…and it wasn’t even close to the Evo VIII. Indeed, struggling with the first real turn on Rio de Janeiro, I realised the Evo X wasn’t on par with the VIII. The theme continued throughout the lap, as understeer aplenty left me rather too close to many of Rio’s walls.
 
However, that was under the attitude that I could just waltz around in this thing without a care in the world. If I concentrated on driving it, then the Evo X became worlds better. At that point, it stuck to the racing line absolutely perfectly. Through faster corners in particular it was astonishing, although slower corners still tended to unstick it, especially given the braking isn’t all that great.
 
If I’m honest, Rio de Janeiro is a rather unforgiving circuit. And it exposed the Evo X for what it really is here; a car you need to drive properly.
 
 
This leads me to the conclusion that if you want a simple, easier drive, the VIII is the better bet. But if you know what you’re doing, the Evo X has a higher ceiling and is consequently the faster car.
 
However, even if I try to know what I’m doing, this proved I still screw up a lot. I refuse to let my driving style get in the way of such an important opinion to me, though. But I can’t argue with the facts here.
 
The Evo VIII fits me much better here in Forza 6. So if it’s won that battle, it’s won the war too…for now.
Leave a Reply

